4 Major Temples of Vrindavan

Vrindavan is a city in Mathura. Mathura is a district of Uttar Pradesh, India. Vrindavan is considered to be one part of Brajbhoomi. Braj was the name of the father of Lord Krishna. Vrajbhoomi spreads around Mathura and Vrindavan. It is not politically defined but it is believed to be the place where Lord Krishna spent his childhood days and made various magical activities. The areas of Brij Bhoomi are the Mathura Jalesar, Hathras, Aligarh, Agra, Vrindavan, Farrukhabad, Dholpur, Etawah, Auraiya, Manipuri, Firozabad, Kasganj, Gokul and Etah. While you are on Delhi Agra Mathura Vrindavan tour package, you must visit as many cities as you can. Vrindavan is a place where Lord Krishna spent his childhood days. Vrindavan is established pilgrimage in India with hundreds of temples along with Mathura.

How to Reach Vrindavan

Vrindavan is only 11 kilometers away from Mathura. You can reach Vrindavan by any kind of public transport or if you have taken Delhi one day tour package, this is our responsibility to take you wherever you want, as the package is fully customized for your convenience. You can also take your private transport.

5 Major Temples of Vrindavan

There are hundreds of temples and Ashram in Vrindavan. Government is putting high efforts in maintaining these architectural masterpieces and these temples and mushrooms are also getting constructed on a regular basis. The four major temples of Vrindavan are Madan Mohan Temple Govind Dev temple, new Radha Govind Temple and Shri Radha Raman Mandir.

Madan Mohan Temple

Madan Mohan temple was situated in the city of Vrindavan at the area called as Kalighat. It was built by Kapur Ramdas of Multan. Multan is presently in Pakistan. Madan Mohan temple was one of the oldest temples that were built in Vrindavan. Saavn Madan Mohan temple is quite closely associated with one more Lord apart from Lord Krishna. The name of the other lord is Chaitanya Mahaprabhu. Chaitanya Mahaprabhu’s full name is Sri Krishna Chaitanya Mahaprabhu. He was basically a Bengali Hindu Mystic Saint. Mysticism is a combination of ideologies, rites, legends, magic, ethics, myths, etc. When Aurangzeb was ruling over here, he gave the orders to shift the deity of Lord Madan Gopal to Rajasthan. This is the reason the original Idol of Lord Madan Gopal is now in Karauli in Rajasthan. He did this for the sake of safekeeping of the original idol. Today at Madan Mohan Temple, there is a replica of Lord Krishna’s original Idol.

Govind Dev Temple

Govind Dev temple is also called as Sri Radha Govind Temple. The name does signify that there are idols of Govind which means Lord Krishna and Shri Radha Ji. Lord Radha-Krishna is known for true, unselfish and genuine love in the world. In fact, as per Hindu mythology, it is believed that if one wants to get true love in life one must worship Lord Radha-Krishna along with Lord Shiva-Parvati and Lord Vishnu-Lakshmi. There are seven stories in Govind Dev temple. It was built bye buy a Raja Man Singh in 1590. Govind Dev Ji temple is built by red sandstone and this red sandstone was donated by Akbar. Akbar was really a great king. It also shows there the foundation of Unity in Diversity was actually laid by our ancestors only.

New Radha Govind Temple

New Radha Govind temple is also a temple of Lord Radha Krishna. Mentioned in the previous paragraphs that there are new temples getting continuously built, new Radha Govind temple is an example of that. The temple was built completely in 2004. The designs of this Temple are based on a very beautiful historic Temple. This historic temple was a brainchild of Srila Rupa Goswami. Srila Rupa Goswami was a disciple of Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu. The feeling over here is completely divine and the architecture is marvelous even when it is not so old.

Shri Radha Raman Temple

Shri Radha Raman temple is one of the Hindu temples that were built in the early modern period in Vrindavan. It is dedicated to you Lord Krishna called Radha Raman. It means Lord Krishna isn’t deep and divine love with goddess Radha. This temple is one of the 7 temples of Thakur of Vrindavan. The followers of this Temple are from Gaudiya Vaishnavism. Gaudiya Vaishnavism means the worship of Lord Vishnu or Krishna by the people of the region called ‘Gauda’. The temple has the original Idol of Lord Krishna along with goddess Radha Rani. The idol is in the form of Shaligram. Shaligram is a fossilized shell and it represents Lord Vishnu. It is an iconic symbol.

If you are on Delhi one day tour package sightseeing, you must choose one of these temples on your itinerary. It will really have a very positive and loving impact on your life since Lord Radha-Krishna is known for eternal love.